Wikipedia Mobile Officially Launches

Wikipedia launched it’s mobile site officially last week. Here’s an Information Week article discussing the launch.

I’ve been using the beta site for quite awhile and I have to say that the experience on my Motorola Q is pretty good. The only down side for me was the limited content. The beta site didn’t seem to provide access to all content, or at least my searches didn’t always return useful information. But most of the time the site did return good information and I was able to find my answers while mobile. Best of all, the site is formatted for mobile consumption, so the layout, controls and functionality are similar to the desktop version, but easily viewable on a mobile device and the site streamlines some of the links deemed unnecessary when mobile. Give it a try from your mobile device: m.wikipedia.org

No comments yet

Leave a comment